Importance Of Eight Directions in Vastu Shastra

According to Vaastu Shastra, the entire universe exists in endless space and has no direction whatsoever. However, on Earth our directions are defined with respect to the Sun. Vastu Shastra identifies eight cardinal directions on which all are activities are based, each of which has a particular significance. India is the only country where the 4 sub-directions also have a special name assigned to them just like the main directions. This emphasises the importance directions played in ancient times.
Orientation is very important in In the technology of Indian architecture. The basic rules of Vastu Shastra are based on the eight directions – Four principle directions:

  North (Uttara, ruled by Lord Kuber, God of Wealth)
  South (Dakshina, ruled by Lord Yama, God of Death)
  East (Purva, ruled by Lord Indra, King of Gods, and Lord Aditya/Surya, God of Sun/Energy)
  West (Pashcima, ruled by Lord Varun, God of Rain/Water)

Four secondary directions:

  North-East (Ishanya,ruled by Lord Ishanya, God of All Quarters)
  North-West (Vayavya, ruled by Lord Vayu, God of Winds)
  South-East (Agneya, ruled by Lord Agni, God of Fire)
  South-West (Nairutya, ruled by Pitru or Ancestors)

Center Zone (Brahmasthan):

Brahmasthan is an important and significant part of plot which should be kept vacant and free from any construction. It is the main centre of any plot from where Vastu directions are determined which makes it extremely important point. According to Vastu this area of plot should be fixed for open space with no construction because Brahmasthan is the root of energies that are dispersed to every corner and surrounding of plot. So construction in the centre of plot means blocking the main energy that keeps a living place lively.